Just another WordPress.com site

A Breath Of Fresh Air

IMG_0227I know I will be revisiting a topic from a previous post, but I took Rainie to the retinal doctor’s office again today.  I wasn’t a patient this time.  I’ve been scheduled for eye surgery in a couple of weeks, and I misplaced the paperwork required for the pre-op physical.  Sigh.  I think I’ve misplaced my brain also.  Anyway, this time as we entered, I wasn’t as stressed as usual – but the dread radiating from the people in the waiting room was palpable.  Even Rainie’s happy-go-lucky demeanour became sunken and withdrawn…

…for a moment.  As I stood at the counter waiting for the papers I needed, Rainie’s favorite medical assistant appeared.  Rainie’s tail began to wag as she stretched into her ‘downward-dog’ yoga pose and ending up rolling onto her back for a smiling belly-rub.  By this time magazines were lowered as all the eyes in the waiting room participated in the ‘love-fest’.  As one person came (and asked) to join in, I could see the gleaming desire in the watching eyes of the elderly patients, waiting.  Rainie and I went to greet everyone in the room.  Rainie slowly and respectfully allowed each one to embrace her, and sat in front of a very frail man in a wheelchair.  As he attempted to reach down to her, she gingerly placed her paw in his hand, then her head in his lap.

As we turned away, the man in the wheelchair said, with tears in his eyes, “That really made my Valentine’s Day!” while someone else commented on how each doctor’s office should have a dog.  The last comment I heard was, “That was such a breath of fresh air…”

Comments on: "A Breath Of Fresh Air" (2)

  1. Oh I love how dogs just seem to make the world a better place for all

Leave a Reply

