Just another WordPress.com site

Rainie’s Been Sick

DSCF0817Rainie’s been sick.  A ‘hot-spot’ had gone awry, blooming into a huge systemic infection.  My rambunctious, energetic, smiling girl had become a small ball of fur with her tail tucked, holding her ears flat, hiding in any small space, lethargic, not following me as she usually does, not wanting to go for walks, and not alerting – just sleeping and watching with those big, brown, questioning eyes.

Finally, she’s coming back to life.  She must be feeling better. Late last night she brought me one of her dolls, and this morning she ‘tossed’ a ball in my direction and scampered to get it after I rolled it across the floor.  And, she’s beginning to alert again.  It’s so nice to have her back!

IMG_0269

(2 days later)  With every day, more of her personality appears.  She’s becoming her true impish self.  This morning I was awakened at 5a.m. with ‘the tigger pounce’.  This is when she wakes me up by jumping on me, thus, letting me know I need to check my blood sugar.  And, of course, she was right.   (My blood sugar was 85.)  Sometimes I feel like I want to be annoyed, being woken up so early; but how can I?  She’s doing her job with a big exuberant smile.

And on our walk, more of a gentle stroll, really, Rainie raised her nose high in the air to smell the breeze.  I could see her nostrils twitching as she caught whatever scent she was zeroing in on.  She slowly followed her nose, turning her head, then body around, until she looked straight at me, bounded to me, and alerted.  Yep, I was dropping.

As I sit here typing, someone with a wagging tail is coquettishly flaunting her favorite ‘stick’ at me, trying to inviting me to play.  Oh, it’s good to have her back!

( If you haven’t met Rainie yet, she is my diabetic alert dog.  She has been trained to identify the metabolic odors a diabetic produces when their blood sugar drops rapidly. ~~~~~~~ And her favorite ‘stick’ is actually a 2-year-old Nylabone chew bone that she carries around with pride and joy.)

Comments on: "Rainie’s Been Sick" (4)

  1. I’m so glad that she is OK…..what a scary time it must have been for you……there is NOTHING worse than a sick furry friend, or feathery or scaly friend for that matter….not matter what kind of animal companion a person has it’s hard when that loved one gets sick. Still need to get together for lunch one of these days! Have a nice weekend & enjoy the return of your girl. Agnes

    On Fri, May 24, 2013 at 12:44 PM, rainieandme

  2. Ohhhhh poor Rainie, and poor you! I’m so glad to hear she is doing better and I hope she’s back to 100% very soon.

    • Hi Karen! She’s doing a lot better, thanks 🙂 Here is something I hadn’t truly considered before. It is so well stated by a friend, who is a guild dog puppy raiser and fostered Rainie during her scent training: “She must be conflicted, feeling poorly and unable to do her job, a double whammy!!!
      And for you, not having your wingman, and worrying about Rainie while managing your highs and lows”.

      This, too, has gratefully passed. And I hope you had a great birthday!

  3. Poor thing! Glad to hear she’s feeling better!

Leave a Reply

