Just another WordPress.com site

Rainie in the field

Oh, hallelujah, it worked!  Rainie’s timing couldn’t have been worse. During our Friday morning walk, she decided to enthusiastically roll in the spot where a skunk had freshly sprayed.  I was not happy!  Not only did I have to be at an appointment in less than an hour, I also had to go to a black-tie event the next day (which I was nervous about anyway).  Plus, my blood sugar was already low, on top of having to climb up our very steep driveway in order to  get home – with a very odoriferous dog.  This is what I get for living in the country.   I hurriedly huffed and puffed my way up the hill, put her in the shower-stall, and took care of my blood sugar.  Then I made up “the mixture”  (the recipe follows).  Fortunately, it worked!  I made it to the appointment with a non-smelly, slightly damp dog; and no one in their tuxedos or fine evening-wear had any notion of why she was so soft and silky.  I just smiled, and breathed a sigh of relief.

  • Skunk Out
  • 1 qt. 3% Hydrogen Peroxide  (Must be brand new!)
  • 1/3 cup Baking Soda
  • 1 T Liquid Dish Soap (Dawn)
  • Mix all ingredients and sponge directly into animal’s coat.  Do not rinse your animal first.  This must be the first thing applied to the coat.
  • Let sit for at least 5 minutes
  • Rinse well.
  • Avoid getting in eyes!
Leave a Reply

