Just another WordPress.com site

Rainie in the big chair

This morning has been spent sitting in the big, comfy chair in a corner of my kitchen, watching the typical breezy, spring day blow by.  The clouds are billowing grayish-blue and white as they bluster passed on their way towards the sea.  The forecast calls  for a 20% chance or rain, but I think we’re only going to get wind today.  I’m enjoying Rainie’s curled body nestled next to me.  I’m having a tumultuous blood sugar day and feel quite terrible.  I’m glad she doesn’t mind my short temper.  My toxic anguish is angrily expressing itself in my mood, and from each cell of my body. I don’t think my coping ability is being helped by my having dealt with a laundry-room fire a couple of days ago (which I caught early enough that no true damage was done), or by my being extremely sensitive to my insulin right now.  But, Rainie doesn’t care.  Her presence is reassuring – her alerting is a blessing, and her nuzzles and gentle sleepy breaths remind me that I’m not alone, and that this, too, shall pass.

 

One of the wonderful things about having “one of those days” like I’m having today, is that it gives me the opportunity to sit and be with me while watching the world outside.  I’ve got a lot going on, and having the forced quiet-time is, in one respect, a treasure.  By looking out the window, I’ve discovered that at least two covey of baby quail have hatched.  There are about 12 that are the size of tennis balls, and I’ve counted 5 cottton-ball sized ones scurrying around.  The parents are more protective than I’ve seen them for quite a while.  They’re actually fending off the blue-jays from the seeds tossed out for them.  This only happens when the babies are young.  Usually the quail are quite timid.  The woodpeckers re-appeared at our speed blocks about 2 weeks ago; and, this morning  I saw a family of three hanging on the block to feed.  I watched as the mama-woodpecker pulled seeds off the block and placed them in the mouth of a youngster (who is the same size as she is).  Fortunately, they do this for a few weeks at a time, and have multipe babies throughout the season, so I’ll be able to watch their antics and shenanigans most of the summer.  They are quite raucous and total clowns!  The hawks, too, are circling, catching the updrafts and wind; while the hummingbirds come to drink, seemingly unaffected by the breezes the hawks are soaring with.

For me. learning to embrace “what is” is a life-long process.  This morning has been a truly gratifyingly slow day.

 

Comments on: "Watching the World Go By" (1)

  1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

