Just another WordPress.com site

IMG_1947Many people ask me about Early Alert Canines and why I am so involved. I’m so passionate about EAC because Rainie, my low blood sugar alert dog, has truly changed my life. With her, I am never alone in dealing with the moment to moment trials of controlling my blood sugar. She is here to alert me when I’m dropping quickly so I rarely go dangerously low. And, she senses when I’m having a bad day and is here to comfort me. I can’t imagine my life without her. I have had to get used to getting so much attention and openly choosing to share the fact that I have diabetes. I’ve learned that by saying, “Rainie is a diabetic alert dog and lets me know when my blood sugar is dropping rapidly,” people are paying much more attention to Rainie and what she can do, than they are to me.

Now, here is some basic information about Early Alert Canines, including contact numbers. This is the same information given on our Facebook page:

Early Alert Canines is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that is dedicated to training medical alert assistance dogs for children, teens and adults living with insulin-dependent diabetes.

“Diabetic alert dogs” are trained to be able to recognize the biochemical scent that a diabetic’s body gives off as his or her blood glucose begins to change. These dogs learn that the biochemical scent is a command to the dogs for them to carry out an “alert” action–which means that their diabetic partners can receive an early warning to help them avoid acutely dangerous hypoglycemia (low blood sugar), and curb damaging hyperglycemia (high blood sugar).

Because hypoglycemia can cause acute and severe problems (including coma and death), and because hyperglycemia can contribute to long-term diabetes complications, it is imperative for a diabetic to receive early warnings, which allow them to verify their blood glucose levels and treat themselves according to current consumer technology as advised by their physician.

These dogs are a diabetic’s best friend, life-savers and life-changers.
These highly trained dogs are placed at no charge to the recipient.

For more information, send us a message today!
Email us at: Info@EarlyAlertCanines.org
Visit our Web Site at: http://www.EarlyAlertCanines.org

To support Early Alert Canines, please consider sending a donation today!!

Early Alert Canines
1641 Challenge Drive, Suite 300
Concord, CA 94520

tax ID#: 27-4237968

Leave a Reply

