Just another WordPress.com site

To My Great Surprise!

As I was at the acupuncturist’s today, I remembered an alert Rainie had given on our 2nd visit there. We’d been together for less than a month:

As usual, I was dozing on the table with Rainie nestled on the floor below me. Suddenly, I was aroused by Rainie leading Holly, my acupuncturist, back into my room. Apparently I had fallen completely asleep and Rainie had gone to find Holly down the hallway in another patient’s room to ‘alert’ her that I needed help. My blood sugar was falling very quickly – it went from 85 when I was woken up, to 60 a few moments later.

What is amazing is that Rainie had only been in that office twice before, and had met Holly exactly that many times. How did Rainie know to go and get her? I’ll never know how or why she does some of the things she does. Life with a diabetic alert dog is full of surprises!

Leave a Reply

